Skip to content

Depth of Field

March 3, 2011

This is exciting.  Given the size of my CCD and my lens focal length (Canon A70), I always figured Canon was throwing me a bone by letting me adjust both the aperture and exposure.  I really doubted I had any control over depth of field, and figured it was optimized for 0-∞, but I tried this experiment for DIR, and, lo and behold, I really do have some control after all!

All three shots were taken with an exposure compensation of -1.33.

IMG_9332 f-2.8:

IMG_9329 f-5.6:

IMG_9335 f-8:

It’s not that obvious in the overall shot, but look at these details, and you’ll see more depth of field at f-8 than at f-2.8, as expected.  As well, there’s a greater jump between f-2.8 to f-5.6 than there is between f-5.6 and f-8:

IMG_9332 f-2.8:

IMG_9329 f-5.6:

IMG_9335 f-8:

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

